Auburn women rally to win SEC title

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Auburn shot a final-round 285 to come from behind and win its eighth SEC Championship.

The Tigers finished at 18-over 870, eight shots ahead of Arkansas (296) and Alabama (287). Arkansas started the final round with a three-shot lead over Auburn.

Georgia freshman Marta Silva won the individual title, shooting a final-round 71 at The University Club to finish at 3-under 210, four shots ahead of South Carolina’s Benedicte Toumpsin (73).

Silva is the first freshman to win the SEC Championship since Stacy Lewis in 2005. readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.