Legendary Texas A&M coach to be awarded

Men's Rankings »

1Casey FernandezSo. Miss.  66.31 
2Tomasz AndersonJ'Ville St  67.12 
3Chase KoepkaUSF-Bulls  67.27 
4Hunter StewartVanderbilt  67.27 
5Maverick McNealyStanford  67.32 

Men's Team Rankings »

1South Florida 68.18 
2Illinois 68.90 
3SE Louisiana 69.66 
4Florida State 69.78 
5Baylor 69.89 

Eight years after his retirement, former Texas A&M men’s golf coach Bob Ellis is still receiving awards.

The Aggies’ legendary coach of 27 years was named Tuesday the recipient of the GCAA Honor Award, which is presented annually to a member of the GCAA Hall of Fame who is retired and has made significant contributions to the game of golf.

Ellis will be given the award at the GCAA Hall of Fame Banquet Dec. 7 at the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

With Ellis at the helm, Texas A&M ranked among the best programs in the nation, winning two Southwest Conference Championships (1982, ’87) and making the NCAA Championship 15 times. The Aggies were ranked in the top 10 nationally four times, including a No. 4 ranking in 1982, and won the NCAA Central Regional in 1996.

Texas A&M players earned All-America honors 29 times under Ellis’s watch and won 38 individual tournament titles, including four conference titles and an NCAA regional crown.

Ellis was named SWC coach of the year four times – 1977, ’82, ’87 and ’94. He was inducted into the National Golf Coaches Hall of Fame in 1998. Since his retirement in 2001, Ellis has continued to teach golf in A&M’s department of kinesiology.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification