Hamrick wins All-American Classic in playoff

Alabama sophomore Hunter Hamrick won the Western Refining College All-American Golf Classic in a playoff.

Alabama sophomore Hunter Hamrick won the Western Refining College All-American Golf Classic in a playoff.

Men's Rankings »

1Joey GarberGeorgia  68.61 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.62 
3Patrick RodgersStanford  68.67 
4Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.81 
5Cameron WilsonStanford  69.05 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.92 
2Georgia 69.62 
3Georgia Tech 69.62 
4Oklahoma State 69.72  10 
5California 69.81  11 

Hunter Hamrick birdied his final hole in regulation Tuesday, then won the Western Refining College All-American Golf Classic with a birdie in extra holes.

Podcast episode

College Golf

Hunter Hamrick on his All-American victory

Hunter Hamrick talks about his victory at the Western Refining All-American Classic, and how he knew lassoing was a good omen.

Download podcast

The Alabama sophomore shot a final-round 2-under 69 at El Paso (Texas) Country Club to finish at 11-under 202 with Oklahoma State sophomore Morgan Hoffmann (69).

The pair went to the par-4 first hole for the playoff. Hamrick stuck his approach on the 420-yard hole within 5 feet and made the birdie putt. Hoffmann’s bid from just inside Hamrick lipped out.

Hoffmann, the nation’s top freshman and Big 12 Player of the Year in 2009, birdied three of his final five holes.

First-round leader Dustin Garza, a senior at Wichita State who opened with 64, bogeyed No. 16 and made double bogey at 18 in closing 72. He finished third.

Georgia junior Russell Henley (204) was fourth and Washington senior Nick Taylor (205) was fifth.


Hunter Hamrick

N.C. State senior Matt Hill, the 2009 NCAA individual champ, tied for 23rd.

Hamrick, an honorable mention All-American last season, posted three top-20 finishes for the Crimson Tide in the fall, including his second career tournament title at the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate. He is ranked 12th in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings.

The Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic is an invitational-only event that featured 32 All-Americans from last season. Former champions include David Duval (1991), Davis Love III (1984) and Tiger Woods (1995).

• Click here for scores

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification