2012 Open Championship: Tee times and pairings

Tiger Woods watches a pitch shot during the first practice round prior to the start of the 141st Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes.
Tiger Woods watches a pitch shot during the first practice round prior to the start of the 141st Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes. ( Getty Images )

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

LYTHAM ST. ANNES, England - Sergio Garcia should think seriously about his wardrobe on the opening day of the 141st Open Championship.

It's probably best not to wear yellow.

Garcia tees off at 4:42 a.m. EDT at Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club in the company of Tiger Woods and Justin Rose. The last time Garcia wore yellow while playing with Woods, the Spaniard seemed to turn the same color with fear.

The pair played together in the final two-ball at Royal Liverpool in 2006. In a bright yellow outfit that made him look like a canary, Garcia started two shots behind Woods and finished seven shots adrift in fifth place as Woods won his third Open Championship.

Needless to say, yellow isn’t Garcia’s lucky color. Maybe something a little more macho for the first round. Blue, perhaps?

The Woods-Garcia-Rose pairing is one of the most intriguing of the first two days, and likely to garner the lion’s share of attention. However, Royal Lytham galleries have some good trios to follow.

Defending champion Darren Clarke tees off alongside Ernie Els and Zach Johnson. That pairing once would have been seen as The Big Easy along with The Big Angry, with the diminutive Johnson acting as peacemaker, but Clarke’s temper has cooled quite a bit in recent years.

Lee Westwood is heavily favored to win his first major here at Royal Lytham. The Englishman is one of the best drivers in the game, and accuracy is a premium here this week, considering the deep rough off the fairways. Westwood goes alongside Masters winner Bubba Watson, who isn’t always as accurate. Japan’s Yoshinori Fujimoto completes that trio.

Feature groups on the other side of the draw include Rory McIlroy, Louis Oosthuizen and Keegan Bradley, respective winners of the U.S. Open, Open Championship and PGA Championship. Bradley will be hoping this game of links golf goes better than his last one with McIlroy. Three weeks ago, Bradley played the first two rounds with the Northern Irishman in the Irish Open at Royal Portrush and missed the cut.

Like Westwood, Luke Donald is looking to make his major breakthrough this week. He tees it up alongside four-time major winner Phil Mickelson and Geoff Ogilvy.

Spare a thought for the two amateurs in this year’s field. Alan Dunbar won the British Amateur last month at Royal Troon and gets a plum draw alongside Adam Scott and Matt Kuchar. Austria’s Manuel Trappel, meanwhile, takes his place in the field courtesy of winning last year’s European Amateur. He tees it up with Rickie Fowler and three-time major winner Padraig Harrington.

Will Dunbar and Trappel rise to the occasion, or be yellow with fear like Garcia was six years ago?

The pairings and tee times for the first two days:

Thursday Friday Players
1:30 am6:31 amBarry Lane James Driscoll Garth Mulroy
1:41 am6:42 amMatthew Baldwin Adilson Da Silva Tadahiro Takayama
1:52 am6:53 amRafael Echenique Kodai Ichihara John Huh
2:03 am7:04 amSandy Lyle Todd Hamilton Mark Calcavecchia
2:14 am7:15 amAlejandro Canizares Jeev Milkha Singh Greg Chalmers
2:25 am7:26 amJohn Daly Chad Campbell Michael Hoey
2:36 am7:37 amThongchai Jaidee Justin Leonard Simon Khan
2:47 am7:48 amDavid Duval Raphael Jacquelin Miguel Angel Jimenez
2:58 am7:59 amStephen Ames Robert Rock Kyle Stanley
3:09 am8:10 amStewart Cink Rafael Cabrera-Bello Johnson Wagner
3:20 am8:21 amJamie Donaldson Bill Haas Y.E. Yang
3:31 am8:32 amDavis Love III Tim Clark Paul Lawrie
3:42 am8:43 amAdam Scott a-Alan Dunbar Matt Kuchar
3:58 am8:59 amVijay Singh Nick Watney Ian Poulter
4:09 am9:10 amDarren Clarke Ernie Els Zach Johnson
4:20 am9:21 amLee Westwood Yoshinori Fujimoto Bubba Watson
4:31 am9:32 amDustin Johnson Graeme McDowell Hiroyuki Fujita
4:42 am9:43 amTiger Woods Justin Rose Sergio Garcia
4:53 am9:54 amRyo Ishikawa Martin Kaymer Tom Watson
5:04 am10:05 amThomas Bjorn Aaron Baddeley Charl Schwartzel
5:15 am10:16 amJason Dufner Martin Laird Kevin Na
5:26 am10:27 amJames Morrison Daniel Chopra Joost Luiten
5:37 am10:38 amThorbjorn Olesen Troy Matteson Thomas Aiken
5:48 am10:49 amBrad Kennedy Mardan Mamat Steven Tiley
5:59 am11 amWarren Bennett Aaron Townsend Grant Veenstra
6:10 am11:11 amDale Whitnell Sam Walker Elliot Saltman
6:31 am1:19 amBob Estes Steven O'Hara Brendan Jones
6:42 am1:30 amJuvic Pagunsan Scott Pinckney Nicholas Cullen
6:53 am1:41 amSteven Alker Lee Slattery Russ Cochran
7:04 am1:52 amTom Lehman Pablo Larrazabal Greg Owen
7:15 am2:03 amMarcel Siem George Coetzee Chez Reavie
7:26 am2:14 amMarcus Fraser Lucas Glover Gregory Havret
7:37 am2:25 amCharles Howell III Paul Broadhurst Richard Sterne
7:48 am2:36 amCarl Pettersson K.T. Kim Gary Woodland
7:59 am2:47 amBen Curtis Paul Casey Trevor Immelman
8:10 am2:58 amRichard Finch Mark Wilson Branden Grace
8:21 am3:09 amHarris English Simon Dyson Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
8:32 am3:20 amAngel Cabrera K.J. Choi Ross Fisher
8:43 am3:31 amJonathan Byrd Sang-moon Bae Alvaro Quiros
8:59 am3:42 amNicolas Colsaerts Hunter Mahan John Senden
9:10 am3:58 amBo Van Pelt Francesco Molinari Toshinori Muto
9:21 am4:09 am Rory McIlroy Louis Oosthuizen Keegan Bradley
9:32 am4:20 amRickie Fowler Padraig Harrington a-Manuel Trappel
9:43 am4:31 amLuke Donald Phil Mickelson Geoff Ogilvy
9:54 am4:42 amSteve Stricker Toru Taniguchi Anders Hansen
10:05 am4:53 amPeter Hanson Retief Goosen Robert Allenby
10:16 am5:04 amJim Furyk Koumei Oda Fredrik Jacobson
10:27 am5:15 amMarc Leishman Brandt Snedeker Alexander Noren
10:38 am5:26 amAndres Romero Jbe Kruger Richie Ramsay
10:49 am5:37 amTed Potter Jr. Ian Keenan Andrew Georgiou
11 am5:48 amTroy Kelly Morten Orum Madsen Anirban Lahiri
11:11 am5:59 amPrayad Marksaeng Justin Hicks Ashley Hall

Golfweek.com readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.