College Men

Byron Nelson Award's 5 finalists announced

Brinson Paolini
Brinson Paolini ( Tracy Wilcox )

Thursday, April 4, 2013

The Golf Coaches Association of America has announced the finalists for the 2013 Byron Nelson Award presented by Cleveland Golf/Srixon, in cooperation with the Four Seasons Resort and Club Las Colinas and the Salesmanship Club of Dallas. The finalists are Wake Forest's Evan Beck, UCLA’s Pedro Figueiredo, Washington's Charlie Hughes, Duke’s Brinson Paolini and Stanford’s Andrew Yun.

Candidates for the Nelson Award must be a graduating senior. The selection committee considers equally a nominee’s entire collegiate academic and golf career as well as his character and integrity while in college. Particular consideration will be given to a nominee’s good citizenship, as portrayed by Mr. Byron Nelson over the course of his life and golf career.

The recipient of the Nelson Award will be named May 2. readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.