Masters 2013: A look at OWGR trends at Augusta

Jack Nicklaus watches his putt drop for a birdie on the 17th hole at Augusta National on April 13, 1986 in Augusta, Ga. The shot gave him the lead and he went on to win his sixth Masters title.

The Official World Golf Ranking was unveiled in advance of the 1986 Masters, which Jack Nicklaus won dramatically at the age of 46. Nicklaus is considered by many to be the greatest golfer of all time, but the OWGR ranked 33rd in the world at the start of the week at Augusta national. Here's a look at some trends the OWGR shows:

16.1: Average ranking of Masters winners entering the tournament

4: Number of times the world No. 1 has won the Masters (Ian Woosnam, 1991; Fred Couples, 1992; Tiger Woods, 2001; Tiger Woods, 2002). That's 14.8 percent of the time.

69: Worst ranking of a Masters champion (Angel Cabrera, 2009)

2: Number of players to win the Masters while ranked outside the top 50 (No. 56 Zach Johnson, 2007; No. 69 Angel Cabrera, 2009)

1: Number of top-15 players to win in the past six Masters. Phil Mickelson was No. 3 in the world when he won in 2010.

8: Number of times a player ranked outside the OWGR's top 25 has won the Masters (29.6 percent). Four of the past six Masters have been won by players ranked outside the top 25.

16: Number of times a top-10 player has won the Masters (59.3 percent)

11: Number of times a top-5 player has won the Masters (40.7 percent)

13: Tiger Woods’ ranking when he won the 1997 Masters. Woods was the world's No. 1 player in two of his four Masters wins. He was ranked first in 2001 and 2002, and second in 2005.

33: Looking for a sentimental champion? Then look at the No. 33 player in the world. Jack Nicklaus was No. 33 when he won in 1986 at age 46, the same ranking Ben Crenshaw held when he won in 1995 after the passing of his instructor, Harvey Penick.

Year, Winner (ranking at start of week)

1986: Jack Nicklaus (33)

1987: Larry Mize (36)

1988: Sandy Lyle (3)

1989: Nick Faldo (5)

1990: Nick Faldo (2)

1991: Ian Woosnam (1)

1992: Fred Couples (1)

1993: Bernhard Langer (5)

1994: Jose Maria Olazabal (10)

1995: Ben Crenshaw (33)

1996: Nick Faldo (9)

1997: Tiger Woods (13)

1998: Mark O'Meara (14)

1999: Jose Maria Olazabal (34)

2000: Vijay Singh (8)

2001: Tiger Woods (1)

2002: Tiger Woods (1)

2003: Mike Weir (10)

2004: Phil Mickelson (8)

2005: Tiger Woods (2)

2006: Phil Mickelson (4)

2007: Zach Johnson (56)

2008: Trevor Immelman (29)

2009: Angel Cabrera (69)

2010: Phil Mickelson (3)

2011: Charl Schwartzel (29)

2012: Bubba Watson (16)

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification