Peers on Twitter react to Tiger's Masters incident
Saturday, April 13, 2013
The drop heard 'round the world.
Tiger Woods was given a two-stroke penalty Saturday morning after an illegal drop on No. 15 during the second round of the Masters on Friday.
People have multiple opinions on the situation and whether Augusta National made the right decision in giving him a two-shot penalty rather than disqualifying him.
• • •
Before Tiger got to Augusta National for Saturday’s third round, he took to Twitter:
Tiger Woods @TigerWoods
At hole #15, I took a drop that I thought was correct and in accordance with the rules. I was unaware at that time I had violated any rules.
I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning..
and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination...
was that there was no violation, but they had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation...
...with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees’ decision.
• • •
Other players and people well-known in the golf world took their opinions to Twitter, too. Take a look:
Shane Lowry @shanelowrygolf
This is a joke. In my opinion anyone else would have been DQ'd. When you sign for the wrong score that's what's supposed to happen.
Scott Langley @Scott_Langley
I've got two ?'s about this Tiger thing. 1.) who is calling in these potential rules infractions and 2.) who is picking up the phone!?
Stuart Appleby @StuartAppleby
If Masters chatted to Tiger before signing his card and the evidence at the time suggested no Penalty then that's finished, new rule helped.
Hank Haney @HankDHaney
This Tiger rules issue is overshadowing one of the greatest sporting events in the world, just too bad and it won't go away
Jesper Parnevik @JesperParnevik
Another player gets penalized by a viewer. I demand a call in hot line for every play at the Superbowl. First Guan, now Tiger, don't agree..
Kip Henley, Tour looper @KipHenley
Not saying Tiger got preferential treatment but something tells me if it were B Gay he would be at the Holiday Inn packing his stuff.
Hunter Mahan @HunterMahan
If you think tiger should be dq'd your not wrong, if you think 2 shot penalty is enough your not wrong. Not sure the right answer.
Graeme McDowell @Graeme_McDowell
From Augusta's statement we know that the possible infringement was detected before he finished the round. Should have been dealt with then.
Ian Poulter @IanJamesPoulter
Not commenting on the incident. The Game we play is played with #Honor #Respect #Dignity #Honesty & a Rule Book. The Rules are the Rules.