Davies leads Euro Palmer selections

Davies leads Euro Palmer selections


Davies leads Euro Palmer selections


East Tennessee State’s Rhys Davies and Gareth Shaw, Jonas Blixt of Florida State, Indiana’s Jorge Campillo, Texas Tech’s Oscar Floren, Mark Haastrup of Georgia State, Arizona’s Pedro Oriol and Stirling’s Gordon Yates have been selected to represent Europe in the 2007 Palmer Cup.

The annual Ryder Cup-style competition between American collegiate golfers and their counterparts from Europe will be played June 7-8, at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mill, Md. The Euros will be coached by the Netherlands’ Chris van der Velde. They trail the all-time series 5-4-1, although they have won three of the last four.

“I am honored to be the first coach from the Netherlands to coach the European team,” said van der Velde. ”I am looking forward to working with such a great group of outstanding collegiate players. We expect strong competition from the U.S. team and are looking forward to some exciting matches.”

Davies, Floren and Haastrup helped lead Europe to its record-breaking 19.5-4.5 victory last summer at Prestwick Golf Club. Davies, a native of Bridgend, Wales, will be competing in his fourth Palmer Cup – just the fourth player to do so – while Sweden’s Floren and Denmark’s Haastrup will be participating in their second.

Blixt (Sweden), Campillo (Spain), Shaw (Northern Ireland), Oriol (Spain) and Yates (Scotland) will be competing in their first Palmer Cup.

Gordon Yates, a teammate of U.S. Amateur champ Richie Ramsay at Scotland’s University of Stirling, is the only member of the team who does not compete for a U.S. college. He has proven himself against U.S. competition, though. He won the International Collegiate Sept. 3, beating a field that featured teams like North Carolina, Wake Forest, Coastal Carolina, Texas Tech and Texas A&M.

EUROPEAN PALMER CUP TEAM (in order of Golfweek/Sagarin College Ranking)

Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State (2)
Jorge Campillo, Indiana (23)
Jonas Blixt, Florida State (37)
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech (46)
Gareth Shaw, East Tennessee State (48)
Mark Haastrup, Georgia State (101)
Pedro Oriol, Arizona (130)
Gordon Yates, Stirling (NR)

• • •

U.S. PALMER CUP TEAM (in order of Golfweek/Sagarin College Ranking)

Billy Horschel, Florida (1)
Chris Kirk, Georgia (3)
Jamie Lovemark, USC (5)
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina (6)
Brian Harman, Georgia (7)
Luke List, Vanderbilt (19)
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest (27)
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State (39)

Note: Rankings as of April 16, 2007


More Golfweek