Hoffmann leads Okla. St. to Big 12 title

Oklahoma State pulled away from a pesky Colorado team on the final day of the Big 12 Championship to win its third consecutive conference title.

The Cowboys started play Wednesday at Prairie Dunes Golf Club in Hutchinson, Kan., with a three-shot lead over the Buffaloes. Oklahoma State, No. 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, shot 1-over 281 to finish at 29-over 1,149, 14 shots ahead of No. 47 Colorado.

Morgan Hoffmann, No. 3 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, shot a final-round 66 to finish at 4-under 276 and win the individual title by three strokes over Baylor’s Bill Allcorn (70). Hoffmann started the final round one stroke behind Allcorn, Golfweek’s 215th-ranked collegian.

Kansas State’s Robert Streb, No. 99 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, shot 69 Wednesday to finish third at even par. Texas A&M’s Bronson Burgoon (70), No. 21 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, finished fourth at 282. Defending champion Rickie Fowler (69) finished fifth at 6 over par. Fowler is Golfweek’s eighth-ranked collegian.

Oklahoma State has won a conference-best seven team and seven individual titles since the Big 12 formed in 1996. Overall, the Cowboys have won 52 league titles and have produced 44 individual champions.

Show Hide