HSBC re-ups with LPGA through 2012

HSBC re-ups with LPGA through 2012


HSBC re-ups with LPGA through 2012

The LPGA has secured HSBC as a title sponsor through 2012, officials announced Nov. 7 in conjunction with tournament organizer IMG.

The HSBC Women’s Champions will be played Feb. 25-28 in Singapore as the second event on the LPGA’s schedule, which has not been finalized.

The field of 63 includes winners of 2008 LPGA tournaments, plus the top 20 on the Rolex World Ranking and two sponsor exemptions.

Lorena Ochoa won the inaugural HSBC Champions in 2008, and Jiyai Shin won the title earlier this year.

Giles Morgan, group head of sponsorship for HSBC Holdings, called the $1.3 million tournament “Asia’s women’s premier event.’’

“We are delighted to continue to work with IMG and the LPGA to secure the future of this unique event., he said.

Marty Evans, the LPGA’s acting commissioner until newly hired Michael Whan starts in January, called Singapore and the HSBC tournament “great platforms to showcase our international players to the world.’’


More Golfweek