Who should win the Haskins Award?

Who should win the Haskins Award?


Who should win the Haskins Award?

Last year, there was little doubt that North Carolina State’s Matt Hill was an easy selection for Player of the Year. Hill won eight times and capped his terrific sophomore season with victories at the ACC Championship, NCAA Central Regional and the NCAA Championship. Hill joined Tiger Woods as the players to win a conference, NCAA Regional and NCAA Championship title in the same season.

Hill was a unanimous pick in every Player of the Year award.

This year, however, there is much more debate on who is the top player in college golf.

Washington senior Nick Taylor won the Hogan Award, but that is not a true college golf player of the year award. The Hogan Award considers the last 12 months of play, including amateur tournaments, and often it seems as though amateur events weigh more on the minds of committee members. Oregon’s Eugene Wong won the GCAA’s Jack Nicklaus Award and Georgia’s Russell Henley is the Golfweek Player of the Year, but one award remains: The Haskins Award.

This year marks the 40th year the people at the Country Club of Columbus (Ga.) have presented its award to college golf’s best player.

In my opinion, this award is the best award by far. Why? Because all coaches and players are allowed to cast their vote on who they think the top player in college golf is.

Anyone who knows me, knows how I believe in letting computers do the work. There is no chance for human bias. But, there also is an element a person can bring to the table, and sometimes that is good.

The Haskins Award does not have a small committee of people selecting its award. It is open to all Division I coaches, players and college golf media to vote for college golf’s top player.

Last year, there were 134 votes submitted, and Hill earned more than 50 percent of those votes. Many more votes are expected this year, with the convenience of online voting.

Tomorrow is the deadline to vote, and coaches and players can vote online here. The award will be announced Thursday night following the first round of play at the Southeast Amateur at the Country Club of Columbus.

There were more than 2,500 players who played Division I golf this year – exercise your right and vote for the player of the year.


More Golfweek