Wronowski elected PGA of America president

Wronowski elected PGA of America president


Wronowski elected PGA of America president

The PGA of America unveiled its new slate of leaders at the association’s 94th Annual Meeting in Boston, turning its helm to president Allen Wronowski and electing Derek Sprague its secretary.

Wronowski, 56, of Bel Air, Md., previously served two-year terms each as vice president and secretary and was expected to move into the association’s top spot. He will be succeeded in 2012 by Ted Bishop of Franklin, Ind., who ascended into the vice president’s position.

The most important election held Nov. 6 involved the secretary’s post because it ultimately determines who will serve as association president in four years’ time. Sprague, 43, of Malone, N.Y., is now set to fulfill that role in 2014.

A native of Baltimore, Wronowski is the PGA director of golf at Hillendale Country Club in Phoenix, Md., where he also had served as assistant professional and PGA head professional since 1979.

Wronowski began his professional career in 1976 and became active in the governance of the Middle Atlantic PGA (MAPGA) Section soon after being elected to PGA membership in 1981. He served on the MAPGA board of directors and held every elected office in the section, including serving as its president.

According to the PGA, Wronowski’s initiatives have had a lasting impact on the section: He created a business plan for the board and committees that is still a standard today; implemented a mentoring program that continues to be used by all chapters; and guided an investment fund that increased section reserves to $1.9 million.

As a national officer, Wronowski pursued his passion for player development by focusing on programs that targeted junior golf, minorities and diversity. Since 2007, Wronowski has served as chair of the Junior PGA Championship. His responsibilities also have included: chair (2007, ’08) of the PGA Professional National Championship and co-chair (2009, ’10) of the National PGA Junior Golf Committee. Since 2009, he has been a board member of the Folds of Honor Foundation.

Key highlights of the other officers:

• Bishop was elected to PGA membership in September 1985, and has served in a leadership capacity at either the section or national levels since 1989. From 1997-98, Bishop served as president of the Indiana PGA Section and was the 1998 Indiana PGA Golf Professional of the Year.

• PGA Secretary Derek Sprague is the PGA general manager and head professional at Malone (N.Y.) Golf Club, and was elected to PGA membership in 1993. Sprague has served in a leadership capacity at the section and national levels since 1998. Since 2007, he has represented District 1 (Connecticut, New England and Northeastern New York Section) on the PGA Board of Directors.

In addition, the association announced the following as new PGA board members: Michael Ahrnsbrak of Winchester, Va.; Stephen Cox of Bonita Springs, Fla.; Leo De Gisi of Medford, N.J.; Gil Gusweiler of Loveland, Ohio; Michael Haywood of Tucson, Ariz.; Suzy Whaley of Farmington, Conn.; and independent director John Jacob of Aventura, Fla.


More Golfweek