Lewton advances to Euro Tour Q-School finals

Lewton advances to Euro Tour Q-School finals


Lewton advances to Euro Tour Q-School finals

Former N.C. State player Stephen Lewton was among the 72 players who advanced Tuesday from the second stage of European Tour Qualifying to the European Tour’s finals, which begins Saturday.

Lewton took first place at Arcos Gardens Golf Club with a score of 8-under 280 to win by two shots. Former British Boys champion Matthew Nixon also was successful at Arcos Gardens.

Switzerland’s Raphael de Sousa, runner-up in the 2004 British Amateur Championship, took first place at El Valle Golf Resort. European Tour pro Simon Wakefield also made it through at El Valle. So, too, did Trent Leon, a former standout at Oklahoma State.

Former Northwestern player Scott Harrington qualified at Hacienda del Alamo.

Spain’s Jorge Campillo, who played at Indiana University, qualified at Coast Ballena. Among other notables to get through that venue were one-time Minnesota player Antti Ahokas, English amateur Chris Lloyd and ex-Walker Cup players Niall Kearney of Ireland and Scotland’s Lloyd Saltman.

Among the notables to miss included former World No. 1-ranked amateur Jamie Moul. He shot a closing 77 at Costa Ballena when a 76 would have got him into the finals. Former British Amateur runner-up John Gallagher was four shots worse with an 81 at the same venue.

Highly regarded English player Tommy Fleetwood, a member of the 2009 Great Britain & Ireland Walker Cup team, close with 79 at Costa Ballena to miss out on the finals. Tour pros Sven Struver and Gary Lockerbie also missed out at Costa Ballena.

England’s Farren Keenan, a former Texas player, one-time Augusta State player James Heath, 2007 British Amateur runner-up Tim Stewart and 2007 GB&I Walker Cup player Jonathan Caldwell missed out at Arcos Gardens.

Veteran Peter Baker, a member of the 2002 European Ryder Cup team, missed at Hacienda del Alamo, along with former Texas A&M player Andrea Pavan. Scotland’s Wallace Booth, who played at Augusta State, also failed to advance.

Among those missing at El Valle were Spain’s Miguel Angel Martin, a three-time European Tour winner; former Irish Open champion David Carter; and Scots Gavin Dear and Callum Macaulay, who teamed with Booth to help Scotland win the 2008 Eisenhower Trophy.

The six-round finals of European Tour Q-School take place Dec. 4-9 at PGA Catalunya Resort, Girona, Spain. The top 30 and ties from a field of 156 players get cards for the 2011 European Tour.


More Golfweek