DUNSANY, Ireland – This is not the way England’s Karen Stupples wanted to win her first Solheim Cup point. Cristie Kerr conceded the match to Stupples due to a wrist injury, giving Europe a 9-8 lead. The pair were set to square off on Sunday in the 12th and final match.
“I’m devastated that I couldn’t play today to help represent my team,” said Kerr, who was in tears on the range. “I tried my best, but I couldn’t hold the golf club.”
Chief referee Marc Vande Broek said that if a player is not on the tee on time, then she loses the first hole. If she comes to the tee after five minutes, then she loses the match.
“I’m gutted for her and I’m gutted for me because I think we would have had a fantastic game,” Stupples said. “I was ready to play, and if she hadn’t been injured, I know she would have given it a good crack, too.”
Kerr isn’t sure how she injured her right wrist earlier in the week, but said it has been swollen and painful for several days. Kerr played in all four matches leading up to Sunday, totaling 71 holes. She finished 2-2-1 for the week.
“She can’t pick up the club,” U.S. captain Rosie Jones said. “It started on Thursday and she was concerned after opening ceremony.”
Play has been suspended due to excessive water on the course.