Lefty’s legacy: 4 majors and now Hall of Fame

Lefty’s legacy: 4 majors and now Hall of Fame


Lefty’s legacy: 4 majors and now Hall of Fame

SINGAPORE — Phil Mickelson, whose 39 PGA Tour victories include four major championships, will be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Mickelson, 41, won enshrinement via the PGA Tour ballot, officials announced Thursday at the Barclays Singapore Open, where Mickelson is playing ahead of next week’s Presidents Cup.

Induction ceremonies will be May 7 — the Monday of The Players Championship week — at World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Fla.

Mickelson won 72 percent of the vote, the highest percentage on the Tour ballot since Greg Norman came in with 80 percent in 2001.

“On behalf of the PGA Tour, I congratulate Phil Mickelson on being bestowed with one of the highest honors in our sport – induction into the World Golf Hall of Fame,” Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said. “It seems Phil has been destined for this honor for some time. From his days as one of world’s premier amateur players to his seamless transition to professional star, Phil has always performed at the highest levels of the sport and this recognition is well deserved.”

Mickelson’s career is highlighted by Masters championships in 2004, 2006 and 2010 and the 2005 PGA.

He has competed on eight Ryder Cup teams and will play on his ninth U.S. Presidents Cup Team next week in Melbourne, Australia.

“My thanks go to those who voted me into the World Golf Hall of Fame,” Mickelson said. “It really is a tremendous honor to be mentioned alongside the greats of a game that’s centuries old.”

The Hall of Fame will round out the Class of 2012 by announcing the inductees from the International Ballot and Veterans and Lifetime Achievement categories in the coming weeks.

The rest of the voting, with percentages in parentheses: Fred Couples (38), Davis Love III (29), Mark O’Meara (29), Macdonald Smith (27), Ken Venturi (27), Tony Lema (22), Fuzzy Zoeller (17), Dave Stockton (16), Harold “Jug” McSpaden (12), Miller Barber (10), Don January (9), Jim Furyk (4), Loren Roberts (1).


More Golfweek