Vandy men end title drought at Mason Rudolph

Mason Rudolph Championship (Final)

The Vanderbilt men, playing in their first stroke-play tournament under first-year coach Scott Limbaugh, won their first team title in more than three years Sunday, as the host Commodores posted a nine-shot victory at the Mason Rudolph Championship in Franklin, Tenn.

Vandy, led by sophomore Hunter Stewart, the individual runner-up, finished at 7-under 845 at the Vanderbilt Legends Club’s South Course. Oklahoma finished second at 2-over 854, followed by Mississippi (858) and Mississippi State (862).

Georgia State’s Jonathan Grey shot 7-under 206 (69-67-70) to finish one shot ahead of Stewart in the individual race. All five Commodores finished in the top 25, with Charlie Ewing and Zack Jaworski tying for 12th at 1-over 214 and Ben Fogler and Jordan Janico tying for 23rd at 5-over 218.

It was Vandy’s first tournament victory since winning the Seminole Intercollegiate in March 2009.

Show Hide