When John Daly made an apparent hole-in-one in Monday’s pro-am for the Humana Challenge, he appeared to have won a new car.
But after further review, Daly won’t be taking home the 2014 Hyundai Equus after all.
The PGA Tour ruled Tuesday that Daly couldn’t claim the prize because his apparent ace at the par-3 seventh hole at PGA West’s Nicklaus Tournament Course in La Quinta, Calif., was actually his second shot off the tee.
Daly hit his first shot before a Callaway rep walked out onto the tee box and handed Daly a new 9-iron. Daly then hit the ball with that club into the hole.
He’s competing in the Humana Challenge this week after re-injuring his surgically repaired right elbow during the second round of the Sony Open. Daly recovered to make the cut and then finish T-32 at Sony.