Baylor’s Jones rallies to win Southwestern Amateur

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. –– Baylor’s Kyle Jones fired a final-round 3-under 67 to win the Southwestern Amateur at Desert Mountain.

Jones trailed overnight leader Zach Wright of LSU by two entering Saturday’s final round but rallied with one of the best rounds of the day to secure one of the summer season’s finest titles.

Wright carded a 71 in Saturday’s final round to take solo second.

Drama ensued towards the end of the final round for the winner and ultimate runner-up.

Jones bogeyed 10 and 11 before recording birdies on Nos. 12 and 15. Wright, meanwhile, was cruising until a double-bogey on No. 14 and consecutive bogeys on Nos. 16 and 17.

Jones went on to eagle the 18th in dramatic fashion to secure the victory.

Justin Keiley of BYU finished strong, shooting rounds of 1-under 69 on Friday and Saturday to slip into third place. He finished a shot better than Kevin DeHuff of Pepperdine and rising junior Christopher Petefish, an incoming second semester freshman at Georgia Tech.

Show Hide