VIDEO: Golf ball hits rules official during European Tour event

@EuropeanTour

VIDEO: Golf ball hits rules official during European Tour event

Euro Tour

VIDEO: Golf ball hits rules official during European Tour event

Not exactly sure how this scenario even took place, but here’s some Sunday entertainment for you.

The Hero Indian Open turned into a runaway seven-shot win for S.S.P. Chawrasia, but there was still drama during the final round.

That’s thanks to this bizarre incident at the ninth hole Sunday at DLF Golf & Country Club. David Horsey was teeing off and piped one right down the fairway.

All seemed well and good, except … a rules official got in the way. Yes, in the fairway.

A rules official was driving a cart in the fairway as Horsey teed off and got hit by the tee shot on the bounce.

We can’t make this stuff up. This of course brings us to the question: Why was this rules official driving in the fairway as players were teeing off?

The most likely answer is he must have thought the coast was clear? The good thing is the ball didn’t hit him on the fly, so there was no danger of injury. And the ball simply bounced off the official, scooted through the cart and ended up in the fairway roughly where one might have anticipated without the man/cart obstruction.

Horsey finished T-8 for the week, by the way. So we know everything worked out fine here, but, uhh, maybe next time don’t drive a cart in the fairway while players are teeing off.

Latest

More Golfweek
Home