2004 Masters: Harrington wins the 2004 Par 3 at Augusta

Monday, March 28, 2011

The trend continues. No winner of the annual Par 3 Contest, which began in 1960, has gone on to win the Masters the same year.

Padraig Harrington birdied the third extra hole, No. 8, to beat Eduardo Romero for the title. Each shot 23 for nine holes. Tiger Woods also shot 23 but didn’t participate in the playoff because he had to attend the Golf Writers Association of America’s annual awards dinner, where he was honored as the 2003 Player of the Year.

Harrington tied with David Toms last year, but no playoff was held because of bad weather. He received a crystal trophy for the second consecutive year.

“It’s early in the week to be making a speech,” said Harrington, who shot even par and tied for 13th in the tournament proper.

The contest featured four holes-in-one: Mike Weir at the 70-yard second, Phillip Price at the 115-yard seventh and Woods and Jay Haas at the 135-yard ninth across Ike’s Pond. Frederic Jacobson also holed a tee shot on the ninth, but it came after he hit his first shot in the water.

After Woods made his ace, playing partner Arnold Palmer hit his tee shot to within a foot of the cup.

Golfweek.com readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.