2005: Nationwide/Champions - Weibring overcomes tense time
Wednesday, September 7, 2011
Just to make sure, D.A. Weibring delayed his victory celebration May 22 at the Bruno’s Memorial Classic.
Weibring, who shot 3-under 69 Sunday, saw his ball move as he tapped in on the final hole. Weibring then looked to playing competitor Tom Kite for confirmation, not congratulations.
“I said, ‘Did you see what I saw?’ ” Weibring said. “He said, ‘Yeah, it moved.’ ”
Champions Tour officials ruled that Weibring’s putter didn’t touch the ground before the shot. If it had, the violation would have cost Weibring a two-stroke penalty and resulted in a three-way playoff with Kite and Tom Jenkins.
Weibring finished at 15-under 201, two strokes better than Jenkins and Kite. But the triumphant stroll off the 18th green was replaced by confusion and uncertainty before television replays cleared him.
“As I stepped in there, the ball kind of turned over backwards,” said Weibring, who hadn’t seen a replay. “I lost track of what was happening, it shocked me so much.
“I never, for that reason, ground the putter anywhere near the ball for a tap-in.”
Rules official Ken Lindsey reviewed the putt using three camera angles.
“I feel very confident that he did not address the ball so he did not get a penalty,” Lindsey said.
Golfweek.com readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.