OSU’s McGraw named Coach of the Year

Mike McGraw led his Cowboys to a No. 1 seed in the match play portion of the NCAA Championships.

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.89 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.20 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.63  12 
3Stanford 69.69  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.83  12 

Oklahoma State men’s coach Mike McGraw won the Dave Williams Award as Division I national coach of the year, the GCAA announced Monday.

McGraw guided Oklahoma State to six tournament victories in 2008-09 – including its last four – before falling in the first round of match play at the NCAA Championships.

The Cowboys placed out to the top 3 just twice this season. Additionally, two OSU golfers – Rickie Fowler and Morgan Hoffmann – were named first-team All-Americans.

McGraw was also named Central Region Coach of the Year and Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Joining McGraw as Eaton/Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the year were Greg Nye of Penn State (Northeast), Chattanooga’s Mark Guhne (East), Nick Clinard of UCF (Southeast), Illinois’ Mike Small (Midwest) and Matt Thurmond of Washington (West).

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification