TCU wins Mountain West title in playoff

Tom Hoge

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.89 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.20 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.63  12 
3Stanford 69.69  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.83  12 

Texas Christian University won its first conference title in four years Saturday in playoff over San Diego State at the Mountain West Conference Championship.

With a four-shot lead heading into the final round, the 17th-ranked Horned Frogs shot 4-over 288 that included bogeys on No. 18 by four of their five players. Meanwhile, 22nd-ranked San Diego State shot the day’s best score – 3-under 281 – to make up seven shots and tie the lead.

On the first extra hole, TCU was 3 under, while San Diego State was 2 under.

TCU freshman Johan de Beer and sophomore Tom Hoge tied for third to lead the Horned Frogs.

TCU finished runner-up by four shots at last year’s MWC Championship. Its last conference title came in the 2005-2005 season.

New Mexico senior Steve Saunders followed a tournament-record-tying 64 with a 71 to win the individual title by four shots over UNLV’s Ji Moon. His 133 total after 36 holes broke a tournament record by three shots.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification