Five players named Nelson finalists

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

The Golf Coaches Association of America has announced the finalists for the 2009 Byron Nelson Award presented by Cleveland Golf/Srixon, in cooperation with the Four Seasons Resort and Club Las Colinas and the Salesmanship Club of Dallas.

The finalists are Missouri’s Peter Malnati, South Dakota State’s Trent Peterson, Georgia Tech’s Cameron Tringale (pictured), Marquette’s Mike Van Sickle and Texas A&M’s Matthew Van Zandt.

Candidates for the Nelson Award must be a graduating senior and the selection committee considers equally a nominee’s entire collegiate academic and golf career and his character and integrity while in college.

Particular consideration will be given to a nominee’s good citizenship, as portrayed by Mr. Byron Nelson over the course of his life and golf career.

The recipient of the Nelson Award will be named at the NCAA Division I Championships. readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.