Oglethorpe takes home D-III men's title

Men's Rankings »

1Casey FernandezSo. Miss.  66.31 
2Tomasz AndersonJ'Ville St  67.12 
3Chase KoepkaUSF-Bulls  67.27 
4Hunter StewartVanderbilt  67.27 
5Maverick McNealyStanford  67.32 

Men's Team Rankings »

1South Florida 68.18 
2Illinois 68.90 
3SE Louisiana 69.66 
4Florida State 69.78 
5Baylor 69.89 

The Oglethorpe University men's golf team won the first national championship of any Oglethorpe sports team on May 16 when they claimed a four-shot victory over La Verne at the Division III Men's Golf Championship.

Oglethorpe was propelled by sophomore Olafur Loftsson, who is originally from Iceland. Loftsson finished regulation in a tie with Mitchell Fedorka at 3-under 285 and prevailed over Fedorka in a playoff.

Entering the tournament, Oglethorpe had posted a top-10 finish in seven straight national championships.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification