Coastal Carolina wins 7th straight Big South

Coastal Carolina won the Big South title April 21.

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

Complete results | Twitter: @collegegolf | Facebook: Lance Ringler’s College Golf Page


Robert Karlsson

Coastal Carolina won its a league-record seventh Big South Conference title in a row Wednesday.

The Chanticleers, No. 69 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, shot 292 in the final round at Patriot Golf Club in Ninety-Six, S.C., to finish at 4-over 868 and top No. 123 Charleston Southern (288) by four shots. No. 85 Liberty (281) was third at 873.

It was Coastal Carolina’s 12th league crown in the past 14 years.

Liberty sophomore Robert Karlsson, who entered the final round four shots behind Coastal Carolina senior Dan Obremski, shot a bogey-free 6-under 66 to win the individual title at 7-under 209. Karlsson’s 66 was the second-lowest individual round in conference-championship history.

Obremski shot 76 and finished third at 1-under 215. Charleston Southern’s Kelvin Day shot 68 and finished runner-up at 211.

Coastal Carolina freshman Sebastian Soderberg tied for fourth, and sophomore Charlie Winegardner was eighth.

The Chanticleers will play at one of six NCAA regional sites May 20-22.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification