Lafayette wins first Patriot League title

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

Complete results | Twitter: @collegegolf | Facebook: Lance Ringler’s College Golf Page

Lafayette won its first Patriot League Championship on Sunday.

Lafayette, No. 258 in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings, jumped out to an early lead Saturday and entered Sunday’s final round with a nine-stroke lead over second-place Lehigh. Lafayette closed with a 304 to finish at 38-over 902 at Seven Oaks Golf Course in Hamilton, N.Y., seven strokes ahead of Lehigh (302).

Lafayette’s victory marked its highest finish at the league championship and earned the Leopards a berth into NCAA regional play May 20-22.

Lafayette sophomore Rob Robertson won the individual title by a shot over Lehigh senior Steve Suarez. Robertson, who finished at 5-over 221, also was awarded the Patriot League Player of the Year.

Defending Patriot League champion Bucknell finished fifth at 917.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification