Verplank wins NCAA’s Silver Anniversary Award

Scott Verplank

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

PGA Tour player Scott Verplank was named one of six recipients of the NCAA’s Silver Anniversary Award, which recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their college careers.

Verplank, who graduated from Oklahoma State in 1986, has five victories and 91 top-10 finishes in 23 seasons on the PGA Tour. He also was a member of the 2002 and ’06 U.S. Ryder Cup teams.

At Oklahoma State, Verplank earned first-team All-American honors in 1984-86. He won the U.S. Amateur in 1984, played on the Walker Cup team in ’85 and claimed medalist honors at the 1986 NCAA Championship.

Verplank was joined on this year’s list of honorees by Lisa Caputo (Brown, Field Hockey and Lacrosse), Teresa Edwards (Georgia, Basketball), Joe Girardi (Northwestern, Baseball), Tim Green (Syracuse, Football) and Bo Jackson (Auburn, Football).

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification