Blumenherst faces uphill battle on LPGA

Amanda Blumenherst won LPGA Q-School on Dec. 7 at LPGA International.

Amanda Blumenherst won LPGA Q-School on Dec. 7 at LPGA International.

Fans won’t have to wait long to see rookie Amanda Blumenherst in action on the LPGA. The good news: She received sponsor invitations to the season-opening events in Asia – Honda PTT LPGA Thailand and HSBC Women’s Champions. The bad news: The money from those two events won’t count toward the money list.

LPGA rules prevent a member competing on a sponsor exemption from earning official money at events with no cut. Even if she wins.

That means Blumenherst gets one tournament – LPGA Classic presented by J Golf – to earn enough money to qualify for the Kraft Nabisco Championship. She needs to finish in the top 30, a tough task for those playing catch-up to the Asian swing.

Blumenherst also received a spot in the 16-player Mojo 6 Jamaica LPGA Invitational. That’s unofficial money for everyone.

Let’s say, hypothetically, that the best player in college golf history comes out and top-10s at her first two events in Asia. Then she misses the cut in Carlsbad and wins the Mojo 6. Her name still wouldn’t appear on the LPGA money list.

Crazy, but true.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification

  • PGA
  • CHMP
  • WEB
[[PGAtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[CHMPtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[NWIDtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next