Charlotte stays undefeated in A-10s

Charlotte won the Atlantic 10 Championship for the fifth consecutive time.

Men's Rankings »

1Casey FernandezSo. Miss.  66.31 
2Tomasz AndersonJ'Ville St  67.12 
3Chase KoepkaUSF-Bulls  67.27 
4Hunter StewartVanderbilt  67.27 
5Maverick McNealyStanford  67.32 

Men's Team Rankings »

1South Florida 68.18 
2Illinois 68.90 
3SE Louisiana 69.66 
4Florida State 69.78 
5Baylor 69.89 

Complete results | Twitter: @collegegolf | Facebook: Lance Ringler’s College Golf Page


A-10 Championship

Charlotte cruised to its fifth Atlantic 10 Championship in a row Sunday at Mission Inn Resort in Howey-In-The-Hills, Fla., tying Penn State for most consecutive A-10 titles.

The 49ers, undefeated since joining the A-10 for the 2005-06 season, closed in 10-under 294 to finish at 11-over 863, 18 shots ahead of Richmond. Xavier finished third at 892, 39 back of Charlotte.

Leading the 49er charge was senior Corey Nagy, at No. 23 easily the highest-ranked player in the field.

Nagy took home his second consecutive individual title with steady rounds of 67-71-71 for a 4-under 209 total, two ahead of teammate Olafur Loftsson (73-67-71). Richmond's Daniel Walker (69-72-74) finished third, another four shots back.

Charlotte, currently 44th in Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, is looking to make it back to the NCAA Championship for the first time since 2008, the last of three consecutive appearances in the finals. The 49ers finished T-8 in 2008, T-3 in 2007 and 22nd in 2006.

Penn State, which now plays in the Big 10, won five straight crowns from 1986-91.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification