First Ryder Cup rookie gaffe belongs to Fowler
NEWPORT, Wales – With eleven Ryder Cup rookies in this year’s competition at the Celtic Manor, it was only a matter of time before one of them made a mistake. Chalk up the first dubious honor to Rickie Fowler.
No, he didn’t wear his orange outfit to the first tee; even worse, he cost his team a hole by playing the wrong ball at the par-4 fourth.
Playing in the second foursomes match of the second session alongside Jim Furyk, Fowler reached the errant tee shot and found it in mud. When he was afforded a drop onto a cart path, no less, he apparently reached into his pocket and put his ball in play. While it was still a Titleist, it wasn’t the Titleist that Furyk had hit off the tee.
Thus did he violate the rule that states you must finish a hole with the same ball with which you started it.
The mistake put Furyk and Fowler 2 down against a superb European team, Lee Westwood and Martin Kaymer.