College Men

Oklahoma State, Hoffmann capture Big 12 titles

Morgan Hoffmann during the 2010 NCAA Championship
Morgan Hoffmann during the 2010 NCAA Championship ( Tracy Wilcox )

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

HUTCHINSON, Kan. – Oklahoma State won its fifth consecutive Big 12 title Wednesday, beating Texas A&M by 13 shots on a wind-swept day at Prairie Dunes Country Club.

Cowboys junior Morgan Hoffmann, a Hogan Award semifinalist, captured medalist honors at the conference championship for the second time in three years, after finishing with a four-round total of even-par 280. It was his second individual title of the season (also won at Southern Highlands). Teammate Kevin Tway was second at Prairie Dunes, at 5-over 285, one stroke ahead of Texas A&M’s Jordan Russell. Oklahoma State’s Peter Uihlein, the reigning U.S. Amateur champion, finished in a tie for fourth.

Oklahoma State, after a tournament-record 270 in Round 3, finished at 19-over 1,139. It was the Cowboys’ seventh victory in 11 starts this season. readers: We value your input and welcome your comments, but please be respectful in this forum.