Pettersson avoids penalty in Kapalua

Carl Pettersson during the Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

KAPALUA, Hawaii – Camilo Villegas is not the only one that had the eye of a rules official cast his way during opening week on the PGA Tour. Carl Pettersson also had an issue reviewed on the ninth hole in Friday’s second round of the Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

On Friday morning, Villegas was disqualified for signing a wrong scorecard after Thursday’s first round when he didn’t take a two-shot penalty for a rules infraction.

Later on Friday, rules officials looked to see if Pettersson’s ball moved when he grounded his club before his fourth shot at the ninth hole.

According to rules officials, the ball moved, but settled back into its original position, which is not a penalty. Pettersson was not required to view the shot in question in the TV trailers.

“We looked at it five times and it was a non-issue,” a rules official said.

Pettersson, on the other hand, didn’t know an issue existed until his round was complete.

“They told me in the scores tent,” Pettersson said. “I had no clue. Usually you know, but I had no clue. Usually you nudge the ball or whatever. I haven’t even seen it on TV, but I’d like to see it.”

Ryan Palmer had another rule issue during the third round, but like Pettersson’s, it was resolved without incident.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification