Illinois, Guthrie sweep Big Ten titles

The Illinois men's golf team after winning its third consecutive Big Ten Championship.

Men's Rankings »

1Casey FernandezSo. Miss.  66.31 
2Tomasz AndersonJ'Ville St  67.12 
3Chase KoepkaUSF-Bulls  67.27 
4Hunter StewartVanderbilt  67.27 
5Maverick McNealyStanford  67.32 

Men's Team Rankings »

1South Florida 68.18 
2Illinois 68.90 
3SE Louisiana 69.66 
4Florida State 69.78 
5Baylor 69.89 

The Illinois men's team won its third consecutive Big Ten Championship, shooting 7-under 281 in the final round and winning by 19 shots over Northwestern on May 1 at Purdue’s Kampen Course in West Lafayette, La.

The Illini finished with an 8-over 1,160 total. Iowa finished third at 29-over 1,181. Illinois’ Luke Guthrie held off defending champion David Lipsky of Northwestern and Iowa’s Chris Brant for a one-stroke victory individually. Guthrie is Illinois’ first Big Ten medalist since 1999.

The win marked the first three-peat in the Big Ten Championship since Northwestern won three in a row from 1999 to 2001.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification