Oklahoma State duo among 3 Hogan finalists

Oklahoma State coach Mike McGraw and Kevin Tway at the 2010 national championship.

Men's Rankings »

1Casey FernandezSo. Miss.  66.31 
2Tomasz AndersonJ'Ville St  67.12 
3Chase KoepkaUSF-Bulls  67.27 
4Hunter StewartVanderbilt  67.27 
5Maverick McNealyStanford  67.32 

Men's Team Rankings »

1South Florida 68.18 
2Illinois 68.90 
3SE Louisiana 69.66 
4Florida State 69.78 
5Baylor 69.89 

Among the three finalists for the Hogan Award, winning has been a common trait.

The May 4 announcement on Golfweek.com puts UCLA’s Patrick Cantlay and Oklahoma State teammates Kevin Tway and Peter Uihlein in the running for the player-of-the-year honor in college and amateur golf.

The award will be live-streamed on Golfweek.com beginning at 8 p.m. EDT May 16 at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas. Golfweek’s Asher Wildman will serve as host, and Hall-of-Famer Ben Crenshaw will be the featured speaker.

The finalists:

• Uihlein, No. 1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, has six top-4 finishes in eight college events, including two victories, for the top-ranked Cowboys. The junior from Orlando, Fla., is the reigning U.S. Amateur, Sahalee Players and Dixie Amateur champion.

• Cantlay, ranked No. 3, has won three times in 10 college starts. The freshman from Los Alamitos, Calif., was a semifinalist at the U.S. Amateur (losing to Uihlein) and runner-up at the Southern Amateur.

• Tway, ranked No. 4, has nine top 10s in 12 college events, including one victory. The senior from Edmond, Okla., won last summer’s Players Amateur.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification