Thomas wins Mickelson Award; All-Americans named

Alabama's Justin Thomas and head coach Jay Seawell during the 2012 NCAA Championship.

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.89 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.20 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.63  12 
3Stanford 69.69  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.83  12 

Alabama freshman Justin Thomas has been named the Phil Mickelson Award winner for the 2011-12 season. The honor is presented by the Phil and Amy Mickelson Foundation, and presented to the most outstanding freshman in Division I men’s golf.

Thomas won the first tournament of his college career, the Carpet Capital Collegiate, and went on to win three more times: Puerto Rico Classic, Southeastern Conference Championship and NCAA Southeast Regional. He was T-7 after stroke play at the NCAA Championship. Thomas also collected SEC Player and Freshman of the Year honors.

TCU’s Julien Brun, Washington's Cheng-Tsung Pan, Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers and Texas’ Jordan Spieth joined Thomas on the All-Freshmen Team.

The Golf Coaches Association of America also has released its list of Ping First-Team All-Americans:

  • Blayne Barber, Auburn
  • Julien Brun, TCU
  • Dylan Frittelli, Texas
  • Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga
  • Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
  • Thomas Pieters, Illinois
  • Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
  • Jordan Spieth, Texas
  • Justin Thomas, Alabama
  • Chris Williams, Washington
  • Eugene Wong, Oregon
Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification