Texas' Fields tops GCAA's coaches of the year list

University of Texas defeated Alabama for 2012 NCAA Championship at Riviera Country Club.

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.90 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.19 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.62  12 
3Stanford 69.70  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.82  12 

John Fields continues to collect hardware after leading the University of Texas to it's first national title since 1972.

Fields - as well as Nova Southeastern's Garrett Runion (Div. II), Oglethorpe's Jim Owen (Div. III), Oklahoma City's Kyle Blaser (NAIA), Indian Hills' Mike Hagen (NJCAA Div. I) and South Mountain CC's Jake Harrington (NJCAA Div. II) - garnered the GCAA's Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride as national coach of the year.

Texas won seven tournament titles under fields in the 2011-12 season.

Runion led Nova Southeastern to its first national championship after taking over the program in the fall, winning three tournament titles and placing in the top 5 in all 12 of its events.

Owen led Oglethorpe to its second national title in the past four seasons, including three victories and three second-place finishes in the spring.

Oklahoma City is no stranger to success, winning its eighth NAIA title this season under Blaser. OCU had to overcome a four-shot deficit to upend second-ranked Oklahoma Christian and take its fourth tournament title of the season.

Indian Hills won its second-straight national title behind Hagen, winning this year by an eye-opening 13 shots. Indian Hills won seven tournaments this season, including its last five.

South Mountain CC had 10 victories this season under Harrington, including the national title.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification