Snedeker, Mickelson 4-putt at British Open

Brandt Snedeker during the second round of the 2013 British Open at Muirfield.

Brandt Snedeker during the second round of the 2013 British Open at Muirfield.

Scores »

Zurich Classic of New Orleans

Avondale, LA - TPC Louisiana

3:02:03 AM ET. 04/25/2014




PosNameTodayThruScore
1Ben Martin-10F-10
2Andrew Svoboda-8F-8
T3Peter Hanson-7F-7
T3Seung-Yul Noh-7F-7
T5Erik Compton-6F-6
Complete Leaderboard »

UPDATE: Well, we said Brandt Snedeker was not the first and wouldn't be the last, but we didn't know how quickly a big name would follow in his four-putt footsteps.

Snedeker – with back-to-back lip-outs – four-putted the 15th green at Muirfield during the second round of the 2013 British Open. About an hour later, Phil Mickelson also four-putted at hte par-3 16th after hitting his tee shot onto the green.

Bad luck played a role in each, but scorecards don't know luck from skill.

Mickelson faced a long birdie attempt of perhaps 50 feet, an uphill putt that rolled well wide of the cup and then broke to settle about 2 feet behind. His comebacker rolled straight over the edge of the hole and stopped about 2 feet past.

When Mickelson's second comebacker lipped out more than 270 degrees from the left edge to less than a foot right, he tapped in for double bogey. That dropped him to 1 over, T-11.

Snedeker started with an uphill par putt of about 12-15 feet, which grazed the left edge of the cup and stopped about a foot and a half behind the hole and slightly to the right. His would-be tap-in then also lipped out, catching the same edge and running about 5 feet back down the hill.

Snedeker's comebacker for a three-putt missed the hole (and the lip) and he tapped in for triple bogey.

The 32-year-old, who finished T-3 last year, had stood even par at T-11 before the first lip-out – but dropped to T-27, leaving some work to climb back into contention.

Even short-game magician Seve Ballesteros once four-putted; when asked how it happened, the showman Spaniard matter-of-factly replied, "I miss; I miss; I miss; I make."

Snedeker had earlier been cleared of a penalty when he discussed with a rules official whether his ball had moved during his stroke when he made a bogey putt at the par-3 13th.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification

  • PGA
  • CHMP
  • WEB
[[PGAtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[CHMPtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[NWIDtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next