Texas-Tyler men win first Division III crown

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

Texas-Tyler won its first NCAA Division III National Championship on Friday, shooting 5-over 289 in the final round to finish off a four-round total of 27-over 1,167.

The Patriots bested second-place Transylvania by seven shots at the Raven Golf Club in Destin, Fla. Freshman Buddy Hallman was the low scorer for Texas-Tyler, finished second individually with a 2-over 287, four shots behind medalist Brad Shigezawa of Claremont Mudd Scripps.

Methodist (1,188) finished third followed by Emory (1,191) and Claremont Mudd Scripps (1,194).

Texas-Tyler is the first golf program out of the American Southwest Conference to win a national title.


Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification