Florida Southern's Crouch wins D-II title

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  67.13 
2Lee McCoyGeorgia  67.66 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.69 
4Maverick McNealyStanford  67.85 
5Brian CampbellIllinois  68.08 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.86 
2Baylor 69.92 
3Florida State 70.04 
4Oregon 70.06 
5Texas 70.17 

HERSHEY, Pa. –- Florida Southern's Tim Crouch won the NCAA Division II men's individual championship May 22 with a victory in a three-way playoff over South Carolina Aiken's Matt Atkins and Western Washington's Jake Webb.

The trio finished regulation play at 2-under-par 211 at Hershey Country Club on Wednesday. Crouch and Webb parred the first playoff hole (the par-4 18th), then Crouch won the title with a par on the second extra hole (the par-4 17th). Webb had posted a final-round 6-under 65 to get into the playoff. Crouch shot 2-under 69 and Atkins shot 1-over 72 Wednesday.

Florida Southern shot 4-under 280 Wednesday to win the 54-hole stroke play qualifying with a 15-over 867 total – nine shots ahead of Barry University (304) and 10 ahead of defending champion Nova Southeastern (295) – and were the top-seeded team headed into Thursday's match-play quarterfinals.

But Florida Southern would be knocked out in the morning quarterfinals by eighth-seeded Western Washington after their match ended in a 2-2-1 tie, losing on a cumulative score tiebreak. In the other quarterfinal matches, Lynn defeated South Carolina Aiken, 3-2; Barry defeated Missouri St. Louis, 4-1; and Nova Southeastern edged Cal State Monterey, 3-2.

Barry and Lynn advanced to Friday's finale.

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification