Some Euro Tour board members call for Dyson suspension

Simon Dyson

Simon Dyson

Some members of the European Tour’s Board of Directors are calling for Simon Dyson to be suspended from the tour, Golfweek has learned.

Dyson, 35, of England, is facing a disciplinary hearing for tapping down a spike mark, in violation of Rule 16-1a (“Touching Line of Putt”), during the second round of the BMW Masters in Shanghai. Dyson, who signed for a score that did not include the requisite two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d (“Wrong Score for Hole”), was disqualified from the event. He has been asked to appear before a three-person panel to decide whether he will face further sanction. The date of the hearing has not been decided.

Attempts to reach Chubby Chandler, whose ISM agency represents Dyson, were unsuccessful.

Sources told Golfweek last week that Dyson was unlikely to face further sanction, but new evidence has come to light which may result in the former Walker Cup player facing further disclipinary action.

A source close to the Board of Directors has told Golfweek that Dyson has been called before the panel because this is not the first time he has fallen afoul of the Rules of Golf.

Dyson was investigated for a rules infraction committed during the 2009 Portuguese Open. He was penalized two strokes under Rule 13-2 (“Improving Lie, Area of Intended Swing or Stance, or Line of Play”) after being deemed to have improved his stance after his ball ended up at the base of a bush. The 15-man tournament committee considered the breach serious enough to discuss it at a committee meeting. The committee consulted John Paramor, the European Tour’s chief referee, but no further action was taken. Although the incident was caught on video, officials determined that the camera angle did not provide conclusive evidence that Dyson intentionally had sought to gain an advantage.

The source close to the board told Golfweek that some board members want Dyson to be suspended because it’s his second serious offense, and they think he got off too lightly four years ago. Phone messages left with several board members were not immediately returned.

The European Tour has confirmed that Dyson will be allowed his own legal representation at the disciplinary hearing. However, the tour would neither confirm nor deny that the hearing will consider the Portugal incident or focus solely on the BMW Masters infraction.

In a statement, the tour said: “A statement will be issued by the European Tour when the date has been set, but no further comment will be made regarding the hearing to ensure that Simon is given a fair hearing, that he is able to prepare properly for the hearing and that his privacy is respected.”

Dyson maintained his innocence in a statement released after the Shanghai disqualification: “I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past. It was only after I was shown the replay of my action after marking the ball on the eighth green during the second round that I realized what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified. My action was in no way a deliberate act with the intention of breaking the rules. It was simply an accidental mistake.”

Welcome to Golfweek.com's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Golfweek.com Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification

  • PGA
  • CHMP
  • WEB
[[PGAtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[CHMPtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next
[[NWIDtourn]] Full Leaderboard >
Prev
  • [[player._CurPos]]
  • [[player._Lname]], [[player._Fname]]
  • [[player._TournParRel]]
  • [[player._Thru]]
Next