Illinois coach Mike Small awarded Harris Award

Illinois head coach Mike Small talks with Thomas Detry during the semifinals of match play at the 2013 NCAA Championship at Capital City Club Crabapple Course.

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.90 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.19 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.62  12 
3Stanford 69.70  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.82  12 

Illinois head coach Mike Small was awarded the Labron Harris Sr. Award by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Wednesday.

The award is given to, " the college or high school coach and PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching and involvement in the community has helped ensure the continued growth of the game of golf and who represents the finest qualities the game has to offer."

Small, an 18-year Class A member of the PGA of America and 10-time Illinois PGA champion, has guided the Illini to five straight Big Ten Championship and six straight NCAA Championship appearances. Illinois finished runner-up at the 2013 NCAA Championship.

Past recipients of the Harris Award include Kent State coach Herb Page, Northwestern coach Pat Goss and Virginia Tech coach Jay Hardwick.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification