The Players moving to three-hole aggregate playoff

The Players Championship will move to a three-hole aggregate starting in 2014. (Shown here is the 2013 Players Championship, Tiger Woods).

Scores »

, -

Complete Leaderboard »

PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem announced on April 16 that beginning this year The Players Championship will go into a three-hole, aggregate playoff in an event of a tie.

Up until 2013, it was a sudden-death playoff to determine the champion.

The playoff holes will be 16,17 and 18, combining a player’s score on those three holes to determine the winner.

“Holes 16, 17 and 18 of The Players Stadium Course are perhaps the most dramatic closing holes in professional golf from a risk-reward standpoint, as they test all facets of a player’s physical and mental game while under the pressure of trying to win such a significant championship,” said Finchem. “Given the fact that winning The Players means you have defeated the strongest field in golf, we felt an aggregate playoff that incorporated these three holes was a more appropriate way to determine the champion.”

If the players are still tied after the aggregate playoff, it goes back to a sudden-death playoff starting on 17, followed by 18, 16, 17 and 18 until a winner is determined.

This is the first in history that a three-hole playoff system will be used in this tournament.

  • PGA Tour was used in this report
Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification