Denver comes from behind to win Summit League

The Denver Pioneers pose with the Summit League trophy.

Men's Rankings »

1Patrick RodgersStanford  68.39 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.58 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.62 
4Cameron WilsonStanford  68.89 
5Joey GarberGeorgia  69.20 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.96  12 
2Georgia Tech 69.63  12 
3Stanford 69.69  12 
4Oklahoma State 69.82  13 
5Georgia 69.83  12 

Final scores: Desktop | Mobile

• • •

In its first year in the Summit League, Denver came from behind to win the title over tournament favorite IUPUI.

The Pioneers shot 10-over 298 at Sky Creek Ranch Golf Club in Keller, Texas, compared to IUPUI’s 23 over to win the League championship by five shots.

Denver unior Victor Doka, freshman Patrick Frodigh and senior Ole Ramsnes all tied for third at 8-oveer 224 on the individual leaderboard.

South Dakota State (47 over), Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne (53 over) and South Dakota (55 over) rounded out the top 5 on the par 72, 6,953-yard course.

Rob van de Vin of IUPUI held on for the individual title after a 5-over 77 in the final round on Tuesday. He finished two-shot ahead of Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne’s Jacob Groninger.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification