Dechambeau keys SMU's comeback win for AAC title

Bryson DeChambeau

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

Final scores: Desktop | Mobile

• • •

SMU won the inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship Tuesday at Innisbrook Resort's Copperhead Course in Palm Harbor, Fla.

The victory marks the first league crown for the Mustangs since they won the 2006 Conference USA Championship. It's also the eighth conference title in school history.

SMU trailed Central Florida by one shot entering the final round, but a 1-over 285 moved the Mustangs to 6-over 858, where they finished five shots ahead of the Knights. Houston took third place at 14-over 866.

Individually, SMU's Bryson Dechambeau won by five shots at 7-under 206. His 3-under 68 in the final round led the Mustangs. Austin Smotherman (T-4) also finished in the top 5 for SMU.

South Florida's Chase Koepka was second at 2 under, and Central Florida's Ricardo Gouveia was third at 1 under.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification