Rodgers headlines Jack Nicklaus Award winners

From left, Stanford's Patrick Rodgers, Jack Nicklaus, Redlands' Bobby Holden and Oklahoma City University’s James Marchesani.

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  67.01 
2Lee McCoyGeorgia  67.57 
3Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.59 
4Maverick McNealyStanford  67.76 
5Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 69.06 
2Florida State 69.55 
3Oregon 70.00 
4Texas 70.08 
5LSU 70.09 

DUBLIN, Ohio – The Jack Nicklaus Award recipients were announced on Sunday at Muirfield Village Golf Club during the final round of the Memorial Tournament.

The recipients were Patrick Rodgers of Stanford University, Barry University’s Adam Svensson, Bobby Holden of the University of the Redlands, Oklahoma City University’s James Marchesani and Central Alabama Community College’s Tim Walker from Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA levels of college golf.

Rodgers, 21, just finished his junior year at Stanford and after a six-win season and tying Tiger Woods career record of 11 wins at Stanford is turning professional right after he takes his last final.


Jack Nicklaus and Patrick Rodgers chat after Rodgers was named one of the Jack Nicklaus Award recipients for 2014.

“I'm excited to start my professional career,” Rodgers said. “I'll be at the Travelers Championship for my first event. I couldn't be more ‑‑ like I said, couldn't be more excited to get started. I'm ready to work really hard here with my team back in Indiana and finish school. “

Since 1988, the award for the GCAA Collegiate Players of the Year have been named after Jack Nicklaus and annually recognizes the players of the year in their respective divisions.

“I wish you all the best of luck, and congratulations,” Nicklaus said during the awards ceremony. “And hopefully this award will mean something to you as the time goes on. Hope it means something now, too.”

Its past winners include three-time recipient Phil Mickelson, David Duval, Stewart Cink, Tiger Woods, Luke Donald, Hunter Mahan, Bill Haas and Ryan Moore.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification