McIlroy wins PGA Tour Player of the Year; Huh top rookie

Rory McIlroy was named the 2012 PGA Tour Player of the Year.

Rory McIlroy was named the 2012 PGA Tour Player of the Year.

Scores »

The Masters

Augusta (Ga.) National Golf Club

4/10/2014 - 4/13/2014

Pos Name Thru Today Overall
1 Bubba Watson $1,620,000 600 -8
2 Jonas Blixt $792,000 270 -5
2 Jordan Spieth $792,000 270 -5
4 Miguel Angel Jimenez $432,000 0 -4
5 Rickie Fowler $342,000 115 -2
Complete Leaderboard »

The PGA Tour has announced Rory McIlroy as Player of the Year after McIlroy won four times on Tour in 2012. John Huh was named Rookie of the Year. Both awards were voted on by the Tour’s membership at the conclusion of the 2012 season.

Both awards are historic for the PGA Tour, as McIlroy, 23, becomes the youngest player to earn Player of the Year honors since Tiger Woods in 1998. Huh is the first player of Korean decent to be named the top rookie.

McIlroy’s 2012 victories included the Honda Classic, PGA Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship and BMW Championship. He has six career PGA Tour victories, which makes him the third player since 1960 to win six or more times before the age of 24, joining Woods (15) and Jack Nicklaus (8).

Following his victory at The Honda Classic in March, McIlroy took over No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking and has held the top position for a total of 24 weeks (currently 17 consecutive) through Dec. 3. He also was runner-up in the FedEx Cup and winner of the Byron Nelson Award and Vardon Trophy for adjusted scoring average (68.87).

Huh, who was born in New York City but currently lives in Dallas, won top rookie honors over Charlie Beljan, Jonas Blixt, Bud Cauley and Ted Potter Jr. Huh was the only rookie to qualify for the Tour Championship, and he finished 28th on the official money list. Among his four top-10 finishes this season was his victory at the Mayakoba Golf Classic, his first Tour title.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification