Illinois claims first Big Ten Match Play title

Illinois' Thomas Pieters

Men's Rankings »

1Cheng Tsung PanWashington  66.95 
2Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  67.53 
3Lee McCoyGeorgia  68.19 
4Charlie DanielsonIllinois  68.33 
5Hunter StewartVanderbilt  68.42 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Illinois 68.91 
2Florida State 69.59 
3Oregon 69.67 
4UCLA 69.83 
5LSU 69.90 

Illinois won its first Big Ten Match Play Championship on Saturday at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. The Illini went undefeated in the semifinals and championship match to win the title.

After advancing out of Friday’s quarterfinals with a 4-0-1 victory over Michigan, Illinois defeated Ohio State on Saturday morning, 5-0-0. Illinois met Michigan State in the championship match after the Spartans beat Iowa, 3-2-0, in the semifinals.

Illinois became the Match Play champion by going undefeated against Michigan State. In the most lopsided individual match, Illinois’ Thomas Pieters defeated Michigan States Matthew Moseley, 8 and 7. No match made it to the 17th hole.

Iowa defeated Ohio State, 3-1-1, in the third-place match, and Northwestern defeated Indiana, 2-2-1, in the fifth-place match. Michigan took seventh place with a 3-1-1 defeat of Purdue.

• • •


Michigan def. Minnesota, 3-2-0

Ohio State def. Wisconsin, 3-1-1

Michigan State def. Penn State, 4-1-0

Purdue def. Nebraska, 3-2-0


Illinois def. Michigan, 4-0-1

Ohio State def. Indiana, 2-1-2

Michigan State def. Northwestern, 4-1-0

Iowa def. Purdue, 4-1-0


Illinois def. Ohio State, 5-0-0

Michigan State def. Iowa, 3-2-0


Illinois def. Michigan State, 5-0-0

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification