Barry edges Lynn in tiebreaker for D-2 men's title

Men's Rankings »

1Joey GarberGeorgia  68.61 
2Robby SheltonAlabama  68.62 
3Patrick RodgersStanford  68.67 
4Ollie SchniederjansGA Tech  68.81 
5Cameron WilsonStanford  69.05 

Men's Team Rankings »

1Alabama 68.92 
2Georgia 69.62 
3Georgia Tech 69.62 
4Oklahoma State 69.72  10 
5California 69.81  11 

Four shots.

That's all that separated Barry from its opponent, Lynn, after the two teams split their match-play final 2-2-1 Friday at the NCAA Division II Men's Championship in Hershey, Pa. The ensuing tiebreaker went to Barry, which held a 403-399 advantage in total strokes.

It is the second national title for the Buccaneers, who also won in 2007.

Friday's championship match was played amidst cool temperatures, gusty winds and overcast skies, preventing any low scores from being posted – Barry's Adam Svensson shot the best round of the day at 4-over 75

Svensson and teammate Simon Forsslund won their matches, while Lynn's Filip Timmerman and Daniel Young won their matches. Marcus Segerstrom of Barry and Jose Andres Miranda of Lynn halved their match to force a tiebreaker.

Welcome to's comments section.
Please review the posting guidlines here: Community Guidelines.
All accounts must be verified using Disqus email verification