Reliving 1996: NCAAs oozed of tour talent

Reliving 1996: NCAAs oozed of tour talent


Reliving 1996: NCAAs oozed of tour talent

Complete coverage | Twitter: @collegegolf | Facebook: Lance Ringler’s College Golf Page

Team and individual scores from the 1996 NCAA Championship

OOLTEWAH, Tenn. – The only other time the NCAA Division I Men’s Championship was staged at The Honors Course just outside Chattanooga was 1996, when a sophomore from Stanford named Tiger Woods won the individual title.

He won by four shots despite an 8-over 80 the final round. Arizona State captured the team title on a windy, final day when no team broke 300.

The NCAA again brings its season golfing finale to The Honors Course this week.

Woods turned pro later that summer, become the world’s No. 1 player and won 14 professional major championships. However, there were some other notable players competing that week in ’96.

  • Rory Sabbatini and Ted Purdy (Arizona)
  • Tim Clark (N.C. State)
  • Brad Elder (Texas)
  • Arron Oberholser (San Jose State)
  • Garrett Willis and Keith Nolan (East Tennessee State)
  • Chad Campbell, Chris Riley and Ted Oh (UNLV)
  • J.J. Henry (TCU)
  • Pat Perez and Chris Hanell (Arizona State)
  • Tag Ridings (Arkansas)
  • Hank Kuehne (SMU)
  • Joel Kribel (Stanford)
  • Charles Warren (Clemson)
  • Roger Tambellini (USC)
  • Robert Floyd (Florida)
  • Trip Kuehne and Bo Van Pelt (Oklahoma State)

Two players who were competed in ’96 are back again this year as head coaches – Josh Gregory (SMU) of Augusta State and Conrad Ray, now at the helm of Stanford, his alma mater.

In fact, the two were paired together the first two rounds at the 1996 finals.


More Golfweek